This is pretty great...

Instead of defending romance books to those who’ve never read one, I’d like to say this instead: grow up. The categorical dismissal of the most-read genre in the world reveals ignorance, not intellectual superiority. This is a billion-dollar industry, and it’s not built on vapidity and cliché. It exists and thrives because romance authors offer readers an emotional experience that mirrors an elemental desire in life: to find a constant and loving companion; to become our best selves; to forgive our mistakes of the past and learn from them.

Romance encompasses fantasy, suspense, comedy, history, mystery, coming-of-age, and crime. The only difference between romance and just about any other kind of fiction is the promise of an emotionally satisfying ending. I don’t have a problem with that. I don’t think readers are lazy or stupid because they want to feel uplifted at the end of a book.
— Kristan Higgins, "Never Read a Romance? Grow Up."

I love this piece in Publishers Weekly by author Kristan Higgins. It's a great reminder to never dismiss an entire genre. 

Pin It!

Support Clear Eyes, Full Shelves

Buying via these links help support our hosting & podcast production costs.

    Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository   Visit Powells.com

Podcast: Episode 30 (Season 3, Episode 4) - "We Have Some Things We'd Like to Say"

In our fourth episode of this podcast season, Laura and I follow up on some feedback we received on our episodes about diversity (here and here). We discuss reading challenges, BEA, and the responsibilities of readers versus the publishing establishment in terms of making meaningful change. 

How to Support the Podcast

If you enjoy the Clear Eyes, Full Shelves podcast, you can say thank you by enrolling in a free trial of Audible (I've been a subscriber for a year now and love it) or by clicking here the next time you're shopping on Amazon. This helps support the hosting and production costs of the podcast. And, your ratings on iTunes also give us a big assist in helping new listeners find us.

We certainly appreciate all the support, tweets, shares and all-around enthusiasm we've received for the podcast! 

Books, Links & Things

Pin It!

Support Clear Eyes, Full Shelves

Buying via these links help support our hosting & podcast production costs.

    Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository   Visit Powells.com

Win it! Love at First Book, a Short Story in Verse by Sarah Tregay

 
 

You know that Sarah Tregay is a favorite around these parts, right? Well she very kindly offered up three cute little paperback copies of her short story in verse, LOVE AT FIRST BOOK, originally published in Hunger Mountain, The VCFA Journal for the Arts to CEFS readers. 

This is a story in the vein of Love & Leftovers, which we highly, highly recommend. (Her more recent novel, Fan Art is also excellent.) All you have to do is enter below--get on it! 

Pin It!

Support Clear Eyes, Full Shelves

Buying via these links help support our hosting & podcast production costs.

    Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository   Visit Powells.com

Book Snapshots: Quick Thoughts on Recent Reads

Book Snapshots: Quick Thoughts on Recent Reads

Hey y'all! I know it's been quiet around these parts as of late--I have no excuses except that my workload has been CRAZYPANTS as of late. We do have a new podcast episode coming at you, basically a follow up to some of the discussion around the first two episodes of this season and I'm also working on retooling the focus of CEFS a bit as well, so it is in more alignment with what feels more "right" for us these days. 

But, I have been reading and posting some quick thoughts on Instagram, but since most of you aren't over there, I thought I'd share some of my recent reads over here with recommendations for who'd like them. Enjoy!

Pin It!

Support Clear Eyes, Full Shelves

Buying via these links help support our hosting & podcast production costs.

    Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository   Visit Powells.com